Quarter Life Crises?

I don’t know how it happens, but there are situations where I’ve been ruminating over something for a while, and then I see these posts about that exact same thing somewhere on the net.

If the title didn’t give it away (I mean…it’s kinda obvious), I’ve been thinking about the new-fangled Quarter Life Crisis, which probably has been occurring since forever, but now that everyone can make a meme/comic/post and put it online, people are realizing exactly how common it is.

I mean it when I say it’s common…

Now, the focus is not on lamenting the loss of childhood (or rather, being forced into adulthood), but on the fact that it is okay to not be “settled” and “in control of life” at this age.

I think that’s very apt.

But then it got me thinking…why is it that everyone grows up with this idea that when they’re in their twenties, they will be established and everything will be figured out?

What have you done society?!

PS. How is it November already? Where did the year go? What is happening? Can you calm down, Time?

2 thoughts on “Quarter Life Crises?

  1. I’m wondering if I’ll ever be ‘settled’ and have it all figured out and I’m in my late 30s, married, 2 kids etc. I’m not unhappy with where I’m at but always wondering what I should be doing as opposed to what I am doing (usually thoughts that creep on the hundredth load of washing or whilst cleaning the loo, lol) As for it being November – I am terrified at the speed of this year. The older I get the faster it seems to go, not helped that my life runs along school activities; Christmas shows, Easter parades, summer fair, harvest festival, and suddenly a year has whizzed by!

    • I think its more about what deep-rooted ideas about what we’re ‘supposed’ to be doing which messes with our minds more than anything else…being content with our lives is not a well-received idea unfortunately. Society is screwed up! >.<

Do say something!

