R.I.P. Indian Telegraph Service

Yesterday night saw the last telegram ever being sent in India. A service which began in 1850 in British-ruled India, stopped functioning after 163 years of bringing good, bad, happy, sad news to millions in the country.

I really wanted to go and send myself and some other close people a last telegram as a souvenir of a bygone era, but with one thing and another, that didn’t happen. Oh well.

Thank you Indian Telegraph. You are a veteran, martyred to rapidly changing technology.

2 thoughts on “R.I.P. Indian Telegraph Service

  1. Ooh, I didn’t know this! I’ve always wanted to send a telegram but I never got around to figuring out how.

Do say something!

