“My problem was SO much worse!”

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting some hard battle” – Plato

I’ve realized that if you ever try talking about your problem with someone else, 7 out of 10 times you will be treated to an in-depth discussion instead, of how hard the other person themselves had it. Does everyone have this experience? Or am I just trying to confide in the wrong people?

The best confidantes are those who have a great deal of emotional stability, self-confidence and maturity to be able to listen to someone else’s problems and try to keep the conversation about that person rather than trying to prove how they’ve had it worse. I guess no one wants to have their own problems seem less important to someone else’s.  But how will listening to another’s troubles make your problem less significant? I mean come on!

So, the next time your friend’s telling you about the awful day he/she had, listen with your full attention and try not to get the whole ‘you-should-be-happy-others (especially me)-have-it-worse’ dimension into the picture. Please.

Take this license…and make someone feel better! They’ll love you for it, and would love to return the favour if you let them!

5 thoughts on ““My problem was SO much worse!”

  1. Sanchari, people that do this are known as conversation hogs. They can’t stand the spotlight not being on them. I’ve met a few in my day and I solve the problem by cutting them out. We don’t need this toxic folk draining us of our energy! Happy weekend! :)

    • Thank you so much for telling me that term…’conversation hogs’. It is so apt!
      Yes, they do drain you out and sometimes make you even more sad than what you were before you made the mistake of sharing your problem with them! I really need to learn to cut them out too!

      By the way, have I ever told you how much I love you for always commenting? Thank you <3

  2. You’re just trying to confide in the wrong people :P

Do say something!

