Valentine’s Day and Feminism

I had to write up an article about this, and I turned to Google. As I skimmed through the many blogposts which discussed how V-Day and feminism get along, it was easy to spot a few predominant types. So here’s how my article went :-

What is Valentine’s Day like for feminists? Is it still filled with flowers, chocolates and gifts wrapped in gauzy pink paper? Most probably not. A feminist’s V-Day would rather include buying gifts for themselves, campaigning for freedom of marriage rights (after all, St. Valentine was arrested and executed by King Claudius II for marrying off Christian couples against his wishes), spending time with family and best friends or attending a performance of the Vagina Monologues.

The feminist approaches to this day are varied. Many are cynical about the concept – why the need to single out one day for love? Also, at the end of the day, it’s just a way of commercializing love. There are also those who think that the media’s projection of this day reiterates the depiction of women as the more dumb gender, which always graciously accepts all apologies just because they are accompanied by flowers, gifts, chocolates and teddy bears.

The most extreme approach may be of the hardcore feminists who believe that Valentine’s Day is a shame as it again emphasizes on the need for a man to ‘complete’ a woman; this idea of course is something these feminists abhor.

The day still enjoys a great popularity, but the cynical, revolted voices of dissent have made themselves heard.

There are obviously a few things I didn’t put in there, like how all the red, pink, hearts, satin, velvet, red ribbon bows and streamers repel me. I understand flowers and personal gifts, but what is the need for all those heart-shaped things everywhere? Ugh *shudder*

 

Some people will say that all the cynicism expressed for this day is actually a form of contempt from those who are secretly in denial about the fact that they love all this mushiness just as much as others.

I do NOT agree.

If my boyfriend (when one comes along sometime in the course of my life) ever gets me red and pink fluffy hearts and pink teddy-bears, it will be time again to enjoy solitary-ness.

I’m not against Valentine’s Day, and neither am I particularly against the gifting and all, but what is the use of making it such a factory-made day? Fluffy hearts? Seriously?

6 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day and Feminism

  1. Nooooooo!!! Don’t even MENTION this ridiculous has-no-basis-in-history tradition to me. I especially hate how the place suddenly seems to swarm with couples who are being so ridiculously mushy, that I could puke.
    *pukes*
    There, I did it. Sis, if your future bf ever gets you pink hearts on V day, believe me I’LL be ensuring your solitary-ness. :P

    • YES. All the lovey-dovey-ness is definitely disconcerting.

      However, I’m not going to puke because of it. *gives dignified look*

      Thank you. I’ll be counting on you to do that if I, by chance, ludicrously, having become like some of my oh-so-in-love friends, decide to forgive the pink hearts. But won’t happen. Nuh-uh

  2. “Some people will say that all the cynicism expressed for this day is actually a form of contempt from those who are secretly in denial about the fact that they love all this mushiness just as much as others.

    I do NOT agree.” —- Ditto :)

  3. You are right we do think alike, good to come across your blog

Do say something!

