The Big Bad Future

First of all, I got through the first round of the TISS entrance. Yay! TISS was like this undoable, unattainable (yes, I don’t trust myself too much) place. And now I have a chance to be there. It’s awesome. Basically, the next step entails having to go to Mumbai (where TISS is located) for the interview and all. My friends and I are actually more excited about having a fun holiday in Mumbai before and after the much-famed torturous interview.

Now, once again, I find myself faced with a question which has been an essential and nagging part of my life for quite a few years now. What exactly do I want to be doing for the rest of my life? Do I want to get into the corporate sector? Do I want to remain in academics and become a Professor (how cool does that sound?!)? Am I interested in going into Social Work (the course I got through at TISS)? What do I want to do? And more importantly, by doing what right now, will I be able to make a career which I will love for my coming life? It’s a tough choice.

And I just can’t seem to decide.

Robert Frost’s beautiful poem makes more and more sense with every passing day.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. 

The question of course is, which is the road less taken. And will I be able to take it?
10 thoughts on “The Big Bad Future

  1. You already know the answer… do what you love, everything else will flow from there.

  2. oh Sanchari…this is a question which bother all of the youngesters i guess….
    i just hope and pray that we all select the perfect road for us…..:-)

  3. p.s. I love this poem by Frost!

  4. Great story and Congratulation my friend you deserve to have this
    http://wp.me/P1Dwwo-nN

  5. nourishncherish

    My favorite poem Sanchari. No matter what you decide, if you are true to your heart, the path will be interesting and your life will have been worth it; for after all, life is the journey not the destination.

    My 2c:
    List the different options and pencil out what you see as the advantages and disadvantages in each; what are your motivations in each path and what are your take-aways in each path?

    All the best! Oh! To be young and at the cross roads of life is the most exciting!

    • That’s one of my favourite quotes; Life is the journey and not the destination. :)

      That’s great advice. I really should do that now. I’ve just been putting it off, and continuously making pros & cons lists in my head. It doesn’t work as well.

      Thank you! I’m sure when I get into something, I’ll miss the excitement of having had choices. But right now…the choices are fatiguing :/

Do say something!

